Assault and battery are both serious crimes that can result in incarceration, substantial fines, and a criminal record. In New Jersey, fines can range from $500 to $150,000 and you can face up to 10 years in prison for a second degree assault. If you are charged with assault or battery, you need a criminal defense attorney who can fight your charges and protect your rights. At Dunne, Dunne & Cohen, LLC, we represent clients throughout the state of New Jersey. An assault and battery attorney from our firm can investigate the claims against you and defend your innocence. With offices in Kearny and Hoboken, NJ, we provide dedicated, thorough legal defense for clients at both the municipal and federal levels. To schedule a consultation with one of our criminal defense attorneys, call our office at (201) 998-2728 or contact us online today.
In general, assault requires a direct act which causes an individual to fear for their safety. This definition can include the intentional attempt to harm another, threats of harm, or threatening behavior. An important part of an assault charge is “intent.” The individual must have intended to harm or scare another individual to establish assault charges. However, no physical contact is necessary for the action to be considered assault.
If you are facing an assault and battery charge, the criminal defense attorneys at Dunne, Dunne & Cohen can build a strong case in your defense.
The typical definition of battery is intentional harmful or offensive contact with another individual, without their consent. Generally, it is not necessary to prove the individual in question intended to harm the victim. Criminally reckless or negligent behavior that results in contact with the victim may also constitute battery. In addition, the action does not need to result in harm. For example, spitting on an individual does not cause physical injury. However, it is offensive and can be considered battery.